[Skip to Content]

Azbee Award Regions

Azbee Award regions map
The Azbee Awards of Excellence honor both national- and regional-level winners in the individual All Content, Print, Design and Online divisions.

The eight regions are as follows:

  • New England: MA, ME, NH, RI, VT
  • Northeast: CT, DE, NJ, NY
  • Mid Atlantic: Washington, D.C.; MD; PA; VA
  • Heartland: IN, KY, MI, OH, WV
  • Southeast: AL, AR, FL, GA, LA, MS, NC, SC, TN
  • Upper Midwest: IA, IL, MN, WI
  • Central: AZ, CO, ID, KS, MO, MT, ND, NE, NM, OK, SD, TX, UT, WY
  • Pacific: AK, CA, HI, NV, OR, WA

Categories in the Overall Excellence division honor national winners only.

Rules for Selecting a Region

    Entrants must identify their publication's region based on the U.S. state where the publication's primary office is located. All entries for a single publication must be entered into the same region. Freelancers and remote home workers should NOT select their region based on residence when entering the awards program; instead, they must select the region of the publication's primary office location.

    National and Regional Winner Selection

    Ever wondered how the national and regional winners are determined? It's actually quite simple:

    1. Judges score each entry on a number of judging criteria specific to the category.
    2. Judge scores are averaged to calculate the entry's overall score.
    3. In each of the eight regions, the three top scoring entries per category become regional finalists and are awarded that region's Gold, Silver and Bronze awards. 
    4. The three top scoring entries nationwide become national finalists and are awarded the national Gold, Silver and Bronze awards.
    5. Regional finalists are announced in March, approximately one month before the first regional banquet. National finalists are announced after the last regional banquet.

    Please note: The three national finalists per category will also be regional finalists, but not necessarily the regional Gold Award winners. ASBPE reserves the right not to award specific winner levels if the overall scores aren't high enough to merit the award or if there aren't sufficient entries.